Why My “Name” is EpsilonLayLay

I think most people here know my actual name, which is Monica, but people might wonder why a horror blog went with EpsilonLayLay as it really pertains to nothing scary. Well, it actually does, you just don’t know the story. Since it’s been registered and I legally own it at this point, I feel it’s okay to say at least something about it. Not everything though.

For years I have been working on building my own supernatural demon hunter universe. This culminated in a screenplay which isn’t really titled beyond a working title so it’s pointless to explain what it is. The point I’m trying to make is I wrote a horror screenplay and this user name is a reference to the main character of Leila Dawson.

The story is based around the seven deadly sins and everything somewhat follows that model.

  • Seven deadly sins
  • Seven demon hunters
  • Seven royal demons (based on Catholic lore specifically)
  • Seven continents on earth

See how that works? Yes, I realize no one lives in the Arctic but still, it’s the principle of the thing.

Anyway, each hunter has a marking of a Greek letter which corresponds with the sin on the list. The seven deadly sins list can change depending on where you look it up. The one I found for inspiration for this story is listed as this:

  1. Pride
  2. Greed
  3. Envy
  4. Wrath
  5. Lust
  6. Gluttony
  7. Sloth

Now this order which I found it in once, randomly, is what I went with when writing the story but trust me, it’s listed in all sorts of different ways so it’s technically neither correct or incorrect.

In my story, a lot of things are based on ancient journals from other hunters, a lot of which are written in Greek or Latin. The mark which the hunter gets corresponds to their sin and is a letter of the Greek Alphabet. It’s a mark that only the other hunters can see and it appears on their chest above their hearts. They have to be marked as a hunter at a certain point in time. Their powers don’t really start to form until they are about sixteen years old.

Going in order, the 5th sin being lust, would make it the fifth letter of the Greek alphabet and that would be Epsilon. Leila Dawson’s mortal sin that she’s marked with is Lust.

Each of the seven hunters is marked with a mortal sin and that is their curse or their weakness. For instance, Leila has a hugely unlucky and downright bad love life. Anyone she falls in love with usually ends up getting hurt or killed in a terrible way. Mark (another hunter) is Anger. His anger causes blind fits of rage which causes him a lot of problems, including inadvertently harming the people he loves. As you can imagine this really doesn’t help them as they try to fight demons.

The story that the screenplay tells is the tale of the second battle they ever fight with Lucifer. The actual plot and how everything works is insanely hard to explain in a small space that’s why it’s written in a screenplay and if I have any luck it will become three screenplays (which I doubt but whatever).

Now that I’ve explained the Epsilon part I’ll explain the LayLay part. That is Leila’s nickname. Kind of. It’s a pet name her father called her which she liked and eventually grew to despise but once he died she started to see it as a term of endearment again. So EpsilonLayLay. There you have it.

Yes, this is a real thing that I really wrote and really is a screenplay now. It’s been sent out to the actress who I want to play Leila. The actress showed interest in the project and I’ve been in contact with her for a few years waiting to send it to her. There are two other actors who have accepted script submissions as well. I don’t want to do the movie unless this lead is on board first. She’s who this movie is written for and as such it kind of passes or fails on her yes or no. Still, I’d be unhappy if anyone else played her and if the case is a pass, there are a few other ideas I am cooking up. This also is already a manuscript but since it’s far harder to get anything published these days I went with the slightly less hard screenplay route.

If anyone is further interested in this story or more details, just let me know. Meanwhile, here’s some concept art from the movie pitch to tide you over.

Leave a Reply

